The Alabama-Tombigbee Regional Commission is a sub-state regional, planning and development organization serving the governments of Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox Counties.   The District is a non-profit agency concerned about meeting the needs of its ten counties and forty-eight municipalities.   One of twelve such districts in Alabama, the Alabama-Tombigbee Regional Commission promotes area-wide progress through regional planning and development concepts in such areas as local planning, economic and community development and human resources coordination.

The Commission was formed by voluntary actions of county and municipal officials and other community leaders from the ten county area in cooperation with various federal and state agencies.   Under the Alabama Legislature’s Act No. 1126, the Commission was officially designated as a sub-state planning and development commission in 1969.

The Commission is governed by a Board of Directors, which is comprised of county and municipal elected officials, representatives of business and industry, and minority leaders.